Puppeteer

Author Topic: LPW2 Build 902 change fixed to variable speed  (Read 1996 times)

Robert

• View Profile
LPW2 Build 902 change fixed to variable speed
« on: December 04, 2021, 08:50:39 PM »
I am a newbie to the forum. I already have a LPWS2 in my narrowboat which I love and am now rebuilding a LPW2 as a spare and out of interest. I now have it in bits with all the parts in labelled icecream cartons and it looks in good condition apart from needing a rebore as a ring has broken and gouged the cylinder. All journals and bearings look fine except for the big end bearings which i will replace. The engine was used to blow rockwool insulation into the cavity walls of houses and was mounted inside a truck

I am rebuilding 05000267 LPW2 A902 for my narrowboat. The nameplate says 9Kw 2000rpm so although it is an 02 build it is fixed speed.
I want convert it to variable speed.
I am happy with most of the alterations including weights, speeder spring, governor sleeve. 
According to my parts manual there are 3 different Governor Lever Assemblies for the LPW2 and the only one for an 02 build is 750-10182 together with thrust collar 751-12823 which is the one I've been offered for variable speed.
Does anyone know by any chance which Governor Lever Assembly and thrust collar I might have and whether I could alter it or will I need to purchase a new one.
Thank You. Robert

cobbadog

• View Profile
Re: LPW2 Build 902 change fixed to variable speed
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2021, 10:30:05 AM »
Hi Robert and welcome to the Forum. Sorry I cannot answer your question but soon enough someone will be able to give you the answer you need.
Since you are aware you need to buy spares maybe that supplier may be able to help you straight away or if you ever need to do the engine swap transfer those parts from the original engine to the new one.
I had the pleasure to spend a few nights on a narrow boat when I visited England many years ago and it was one of the highlights of the trip.