Author Topic: Hello all and.....  (Read 257 times)

jasp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hello all and.....
« on: November 24, 2020, 11:52:59 AM »
Hello all, I have been lurking every now and again and gleened some excellent information over the years, thankyou.
I have helped a neighbour fit this generator and jury rig it to test it, he is totally off grid and his old one died.
It fired up very easily and there was a tiny orange glow from the power, I eased all the brushes and the orange glow got a tiny bit brighter, repeat try again and after 5 mins on came the power and away she went...

In the top box there are a couple of melted wires from the switch and a couple of wires snapped off from the two fuel and decompress solenoids, I have had a look to my ability on this site and on the web for a diag or photo but as yet have drawn a blank.It is not a startomatic but a manual electric start, could anyone point us in the right direction for
rewiring this box up as much of the wiring could do with a refresh!

https://ibb.co/NSY6XcR

https://ibb.co/NSY6XcR
https://ibb.co/xMVtQcb

jasp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Hello all and.....
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2020, 11:54:32 AM »
Ps. sorry for the picture links, I dont know how to add the actual pictures! Jasp.

jasp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Hello all and.....
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2020, 12:59:32 PM »
I am wondering if it is missing the rectifier!
Any pointers to where to purchase one would be welcome too.

oldgoat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Hello all and.....
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2020, 02:02:17 PM »
1000v 50 amp rectifier on ebay A$10.00

jasp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Hello all and.....
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2020, 07:30:15 PM »
Thanks, so would that be just a standard bridge rectifier?

oldgoat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: Hello all and.....
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2020, 12:12:37 PM »
Yes.  What you need is probably only a diode get it from ebey