Author Topic: Lister LD1 startomatic 1.5 kw not working  (Read 124 times)

PAUL WELCH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Lister LD1 startomatic 1.5 kw not working
« on: October 30, 2020, 09:46:49 PM »
Hi all,My first time on a forum,I have 4 other Lister startomatics that all generate by hand start only .I have rebuilt the LD1 and fired it up and was only getting 33volts so I connected up a 1kw fan heater for a couple of seconds and the voltage started to rise ,the engine came underload and an electrical component mounted next to the 12v slip rings sparked and caught fire so I shut down all within 5 or 6 seconds .What is this component its barrel shaped with small flange reads type S3N2 0.2 ??230v  WKG max through current maybe 30amp or 60 amp why has it blown and where can I get one in the uk thanks all Paul

dkmc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
Re: Lister LD1 startomatic 1.5 kw not working
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2020, 09:59:39 PM »
A picture would help, but it sure sounds like a capacitor to me  .2 mFd (Microfarad) 230v perhaps

mike90045

  • Mendocino Metro
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • Mmmm BBQ
    • View Profile
    • Mikes Solar PV page
Re: Lister LD1 startomatic 1.5 kw not working
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2020, 04:48:25 AM »
Do the start-o-matics produce AC  or DC ?  I wonder if the heater's fan motor was a problem ?  AC motor on a DC circuit ?