Puppeteer

Author Topic: Timing information  (Read 215 times)

Zvh_greatwhite

• View Profile
Timing information
« on: July 30, 2020, 06:48:31 AM »

Hi guys av had a customer come to me with a 2 cylinder lister engine (TW2 model) that wont turn over buy hand ,after a closer look there seems to be sand in the intake so am guessing that there have dragged it along the beach and sand has gone in the intake ,

Wot am intessed  in is how to time the engine so that a can remove the heads , and if a carnt get the time mark to line up because off the sand stopping it can a just put it at top dead centre once heads are remove so that a can set the valve  clearances on refitting heads

Am a complete novice to these engines so any links to timing marks, valve clearances ect to the information would be gratefully appreciated  thanks graham

Not new to spanners just the engines

cobbadog

• View Profile
Re: Timing information
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2020, 12:46:03 PM »
I dont have one but the very best advise I can offer is to find a workshop manual before you start to strip it down. Take way too many pics to use as a referance for re-assembly. I was able to do a simple Google search and found a manual for my engine and it is a freeby. Maybe someone has a thread on this site for manauals so try a search  back on the home page to see what turns up.
You will need your timing marks before you tear it apart as having the piston at TDC may not be combustion stroke. Another suggestion is to remove the air intake and have a look inside the ports for sand and how much. By now it must be dry sand and some high pressure air could remove most if not all of it except if some is inside the cylinder. There is something I would check to find that out and it would be to remove the injector and buy one of those endo-scopes that attach to your mobile phone and have a look inside for any sand. Again another blast with high pressure air might be good enough to get rid of it.