Puppeteer

Author Topic: Jkson 6/1 rebuild  (Read 110905 times)

32 coupe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • "Doc Johnson" on call !
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #285 on: August 26, 2015, 06:39:33 AM »
The switch turns on the light !
Other than that it does nothing.


Gary

Metro 6/1 turning a ST 7.5 KW gen head
Changfa 1115 turning a ST 15 KW gen head
Ashwamegh 2/25
John Deere 110 TBL
New Holland TC 30

"I was sitting here reading this thinking what an idiot you are until I realized it was one of my earlier posts !"

Gippslander

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #286 on: August 26, 2015, 10:38:18 AM »
The switch turns on the light !
Other than that it does nothing.


Gary



Really  :o  A light that does nothing !
Gippsland is in the S.E. corner of mainland Australia

dieselgman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3172
    • View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #287 on: August 26, 2015, 02:22:51 PM »
Silly, really... but the light is there to indicate that the generator is producing power.

dieselgman
ALL Things Lister/Petter - Americas
Lyons Kansas warehousing and rebuild operations

George A

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #288 on: August 26, 2015, 09:09:41 PM »
The Chinese could save a extra few cents by leaving the switch out of the circuit. I mean, come on, if the light is on the generator's producing power......right?  :P

I'd rather have a meter any day.......................
I've joined "the dark side"....if it has a spark plug, it's obsolete technology.

vtmetro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #289 on: August 26, 2015, 09:40:33 PM »
Funny, I was just asking about that switch and light in the generator section of the forum.

If the last few posts apply to my ST5, too, mine also has a meter so I REALLY don't get what the switch and light are for.

Gippslander

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #290 on: October 02, 2015, 11:41:11 AM »
I am now wiring up the bits and pieces , I have the conduit from the St3 sitting in a trench in the concrete floor , when I poured the concrete I made a trench for the conduit . The conduit goes up the wall to the box with the circuit breakers and the RCD . I also have a 15 Amp  RCD/breaker  on the St3 itself . I am using the grounded neutral system .

Not been doing much on the roid recently Mike
Gippsland is in the S.E. corner of mainland Australia

Gippslander

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: Jkson 6/1 rebuild
« Reply #291 on: January 21, 2016, 10:03:10 AM »
Hi

An update . I have wired up the 240 V  power board and its all finished apart from the earth stake in the ground . I have RCD's and current breakers in the circuit .

Ive been buying more stuff  :o  I got an old Cincinnati MI horizontal milling machine, it's a beauty  :laugh:  it came out of a school - it has power feeds on all axis and a anti backlash nut on the table X axis . Its from around 1946 . .

Also got a Churchill NB toolroom  surface grinder , an oldie but its very heavy and strong  .  Mike
Gippsland is in the S.E. corner of mainland Australia