Puppeteer

Author Topic: Engine suggestions?  (Read 3196 times)

JamesLit

• View Profile
Engine suggestions?
« on: January 29, 2013, 12:26:35 AM »
Hi all,

While I am new to the more "in depth" Lister scene, I've always loved Lister engines. I have a real appreciation for British engineering, especially when it comes to this sort of thing. I adore Mirrlees/Mirrlees Blackstone and Gardner as well as Lister.

I'm also passionate about railways. I know all 3 of the engine companies I've mentioned have built engines used in locomotives. Well, I'm having two of my own locomotives built to 7.25" gauge in the coming years, and want my diesel locomotive to be fitted with a real, British engine, rather than some rubbish Honda or Kubota jobby.

The design will be based upon this loco:
http://www.knightleylightrailway.co.uk/bagnall.htm
which is usually fitted with a Honda petrol engine, as shown in one of the images on that page.

I'm looking for suggestions for suitable Lister or Lister-Petter etc engines to be used in this loco.

My requirements are as per that site (can drive Eaton units, and fit in roughly that kind of space), and 10-15HP. Capability for electric start would be ideal, but I'd not say no to a hand start that won't rip your arm off!

Let me know if you need any other info, but as things are quite up into the air as to final arrangements and such (but I want to plan ahead as much as possible) I may not be able to provide everything info wise.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 12:29:24 AM by JamesLit »

dieselgman

• View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: Engine suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2013, 01:26:47 AM »