Puppeteer

Author Topic: 18/1 Tear down  (Read 10102 times)

puterboy

• View Profile
Re: 18/1 Tear down
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2012, 04:13:58 AM »
Thanks DieselGMan.

Thanks Quinnf. My heads are cast iron, and the head bolts are not torque to yield bolts. Luckily, it only boiled out a little less than a gallon of antifreeze. The likelyhood that one of the head gaskets will blow is less because of the retaliative low antifreeze boil out. However, it is never good to overheat an engine. I'm going to have to fix my temperature gage so I don't have to go by smell, and the boiling sound coming from the surge tank. :( You are right. I would have to do some preventive engine work had it had aluminum heads and/or torque to yield bolts, but good ole cast iron gives me a better chance of relaxing after work instead of working on my truck. :)

BTW... don't read my response as a slam. Please keep giving advise because I don't know everything. I was a mechanic for 17 years, but my knowledge is dated. I quit wrenching 15 years ago in 1997 to work in Information Technology. Back in my wrenching day, GM engines didn't use torque to yield bolts, or maybe I should say one didn't have to tear them down because they were too new. On the other hand, Ford was using torque to yield bolts in some engines back then. I hate Fords. Did I say that out loud.  ;) Also, back then GM didn't stand for Government Motors.

puterboy

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2012, 02:04:32 AM »
I wanted to update everyone on the tear down and build of my 18-1, but I've been busy doing other things. Getting a calf has sucked my time into rebuilding the fence around the farm.