Author Topic: Testing the coils on a twin spark Fairbanks Morse Magneto  (Read 11597 times)

barry100

• View Profile
Testing the coils on a twin spark Fairbanks Morse Magneto
« on: February 14, 2012, 07:06:17 AM »
Hi All
I have got 4 magnetos all for same engine painted army green ,  3 Fairbanks and one Wyco  all Twin spark (  no dissy both fire together) and none work, Coil test: Primary to core ( earth) about 3 omhs.  Secondary ( high tension spring) to core , infinity, open, ,  between the two high tension  springs 12000 omhs ,all look clean and good condtion inside,  anyone know what the readings  mean
Regards Barry

Thob

• View Profile
Re: Testing the coils on a twin spark Fairbanks Morse Magneto
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 02:24:37 AM »
Well - since no one else has replied, I put my ignorance out for everyone to see.  I'm no expert on magnetos, but those sound like reasonable numbers to me.  Do these magnetos have points and condenser?  I'd look there for trouble - make sure the points read zero ohms when installed.  Make sure the condenser is good, if you have a way to test it.  I think it needs to be good for several hundred volts (I had one on car engine years ago that measured the correct uF but had a voltage breakdown of only about 15 volts.  I didn't know then that it needed to be much more).

When I think of Listers, I usually think of diesels.  You might find more responses on these forums:

http://www.microcogen.info/index.php

http://www.smokstak.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3

Witte 98RC Gas burner - Kubota D600 w/ST7.5KW head.
I'm not afraid to take anything apart.
I am sometimes afraid I'm not going to get it back together.

Thob

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 02:27:16 AM »
One more thing - are they still magnetized?  They CAN become demagnetized.

Thob

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 02:54:43 AM »
Some information here might be of use (repair instructions for Fairbanks Morse Magneto):