Puppeteer

Author Topic: TS2 - injector question  (Read 4792 times)

dourobob

• View Profile
TS2 - injector question
« on: September 24, 2011, 11:56:53 AM »
I am checking out a TS2 driven 9kw gen set  that the seller says "This diesel has mechanical injectors and will run on almost any available heavy fuel including filtered french fry oil."

When asking about WVO filtering etc on another part of this forum, dieselgman says "Speaking strictly to your question about Lister TS2 and WVO - Since this is a direct injected engine and has fairly small ports and passages, carbon build-up will be an issue. I believe you will have to preheat your fuel or convert it to biodiesel if you expect to burn it in a TS series engine. If you preheat, I believe it will run through the TS fuel injection without an issue. That process does get a bit complicated."

I am very new to this whole process and am trying to SIMPLIFY this as much as possible.

I am wondering if anyone can help me with the following:

1 - Are mechanical and direct injectors the same thing?
2 - Could this TS2 have mechanical injectors?
3 - Is there an easy way to determine the type of injector?
Thanks for any guidance.

Bob

carlb23

• View Profile
Re: TS2 - injector question
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 02:16:38 PM »
I am checking out a TS2 driven 9kw gen set  that the seller says "This diesel has mechanical injectors and will run on almost any available heavy fuel including filtered french fry oil."

When asking about WVO filtering etc on another part of this forum, dieselgman says "Speaking strictly to your question about Lister TS2 and WVO - Since this is a direct injected engine and has fairly small ports and passages, carbon build-up will be an issue. I believe you will have to preheat your fuel or convert it to biodiesel if you expect to burn it in a TS series engine. If you preheat, I believe it will run through the TS fuel injection without an issue. That process does get a bit complicated."