Puppeteer

Author Topic: ChangFa R185 video w/stock and NAPA muffler  (Read 4162 times)

europachris

• View Profile
ChangFa R185 video w/stock and NAPA muffler
« on: May 27, 2006, 02:22:18 AM »
Hi, all.

Got around to making up some custom intake and exhaust manifolds for the R185.  Initial tests with mounting a Solberg 1-1/4 NPT thread air compressor silencer/filter on the stock manifold proved promising that it would reduce intake noise, but something still had to be done with the muffler.

I picked up a 'universal' fit NAPA muffler (fits a '87 Sentra) for about $27.  1-5/8 ID inlet and 1-1/2 ID outlet.  6" dia and about 15" long.

Picked up a chunk of 1-5/8" x .109 wall tubing and 3" wide x .125" strip from the local steel house and made up a intake and exhaust manifold and flanges.  It turned out pretty good for a first pass, and I'm a LOUSY welder.  Next time I'll have it TIG welded by a buddy.  That will save some grinding time....

I found a NAPA paint that matched the ChangFa paint pretty good for the intake pipe and used high temp aluminum paint for the exhaust.  Muffler is welded to the exhaust and there's a little brace that I welded from the rim of the muffler bottom to the horizontal portion of the manifold to help absorb the vibration.  Air filter is attached to the intake pipe with a piece of 1-1/2" ID radiator hose and two clamps, so it can flex a bit and take the vibration, also, which isn't bad at all.

Anyway, here are the videos:http://n9zes.zippyvideos.com/gallery.z

[edit:] It's not real obvious on the video, but the muffler did make a big difference.  The exhaust is just a low frequency PUFF PUFF PUFF sound now.  The problem is the mechanical noise of these ChangFa engines is louder than the intake and exhaust put together.  Overall, though, it's a big improvement and a worthwhile project!