Puppeteer

Author Topic: Lister "threads"  (Read 18849 times)

SA245

• View Profile
Lister "threads"
« on: November 02, 2010, 01:07:16 AM »
Hi Everyone, DrDeath finally got me access to the forum and so here I am- A very NEW member.  Am very happy to be here, and am working thru DD and a gentleman in the UK for some engines (Hopefully)
Was reading a document on identifying Listers of different types here http://www.stationary-engine.net/forum/showthread.php?t=11194, and came across this:

"All threads are Unified on the FR, a complete break from the BSF and BSW threads used on the CS and JP engines. (The 8/1 and 16/2 engines went on for some years as a major export product to Iran, and only stopped when the Shah was overthrown there)"

I am a former diesel mechanic here in the US, on ThermoKing Isuzu, Mercedes, and Yanmar engines with a dabling in Cat's, Cummins and Detroit's.  I am used to SAE and Metric threads.  Can anyone tell me what I am up against with this type of threading scheme?  Figured I'd ask here first.  Thanks to all,

Steve A.  (SA245)

LowGear

• Casey
  • What? My diesel had fries for lunch?
    • View Profile
Re: Lister "threads"
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 02:41:51 AM »
Once you get the wrench sets it shouldn't be too much of a problem.   ;D

SEA?  No, that's the airport code for Seattle.  SAE!  Oh yeah that's what we call American.

Maybe the Crescent adjustable spanner isn't such a bad invention after all.  Best Wishes on your adventures.

Casey

NPR Tipper/Dump Truck
Kubota BX 2230
Witte BD Generator
SunnyBoy 6000 + SolarWorld 245

SA245

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 03:41:04 AM »
Once you get the wrench sets it shouldn't be too much of a problem.   ;D

SEA?  No, that's the airport code for Seattle.  SAE!  Oh yeah that's what we call American.

Maybe the Crescent adjustable spanner isn't such a bad invention after all.  Best Wishes on your adventures.

Casey

Hey Casey,