Author Topic: Need advice on old Gen  (Read 8831 times)

BigMal

• View Profile
    • Goldvale
Need advice on old Gen
« on: May 04, 2006, 12:00:01 PM »
Hello to the Group, I am a Newbie just getting his feet wet with a Lister 6/1 and old generator, I wonder if anyone can identify this old generator, and tell me if it is capable of starting the lister, as it has a 4 brush commutator. But I am unsure as to whether it is solely for exciting or for driving? I also notice that the KVA plate has been overstamped by the look of it. I think it should read 3.5 not 5.5  Also the wiring connections are not exactly obvious!!! Any help would be gratefully received. The pictures are on http://goldvale.com/gen.htm

Thanks

Malcolm (based in the UK)

Doug

Re: Need advice on old Gen
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 07:08:24 PM »
Hello Malcom:

What you have is a syncronous converter but it was intended to be a driven alternator!!!!
This is very exciting stuff!!!!
You have found the holy grail of DIY alternator heads. This will easily start a 6/1, however it will need a good cleaning and once over. The whole unit should be taken down and cleaned with an electrical grade solvent, ( the windings look good but no harm in a fresh coat of electrical finish or varnish ) and the packing and wicks should be removed from the bushings and replaced new and reoiled with a non detergent # 30 oil.

As far as the connections go this is very hard to tell from pictures but you should have 6 wires (and it apears you do) two for the AC out, two for field current (the small red ones) and two for the dc to motorize this unit. It also looks like there may be an interpole connection on this that you need to be aware of for rotation purposes but I can't be sure without taking it apart.