Author Topic: Which Lister Engine should I buy!  (Read 24447 times)

Zagato

• View Profile
Which Lister Engine should I buy!
« on: June 24, 2010, 09:46:03 AM »
Hi I am new to stationary engines but love old engineering.  I use a 1962 Land Rover for daily use, and my toys are a Jaguar XK120,  a 1947 BSA M20, a Drascombe Longboat and I am building another Land Rover from scratch but my mechanical skills are limited - so I am learning fast!  :o

I would like a Lister for interest and to rig up to a saw bench to cut small logs.  The reason I have decided on a Lister is that they seem to be common, good spares back-up and cheaper compared to other makes.  I have followed a few A's and D's on E-bay to gauge prices but I think a CS 5-1 would be my first choice (they don't seem to come up to often).  The trouble is I have a narrow passageway and would have to knock down the back of the garage to get a CS into the back garden whereas I believe a Lister D is narrower.  So finally the questions.....

Would a Lister D be suitable to rig up to a saw bench and capable of chopping small logs e.g 10" thickness.   

I would really like a Lister CS 5-1 but my passageway is 34" wide MAX can I take anything off the engine to make it narrower.  Looking at some technical drawings they seem to be 37" wide i :-\

Cheers Chris
« Last Edit: June 24, 2010, 10:00:11 AM by Zagato »

Tijean

• View Profile
Re: Which Lister Engine should I buy!
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2010, 12:20:56 PM »
Turn the engine the other way! Max dimension is then the flywheel diameter and less yet if you take them off.
Frank

10/1 Jkson, ST5 gen. head

compig

• 1953 Lister CS 6/1 SOM owner
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2010, 02:43:26 PM »