Puppeteer

Author Topic: Syncing multiple generators  (Read 19286 times)

cschuerm

• View Profile
Syncing multiple generators
« on: April 26, 2009, 03:09:41 PM »
Before anyone jumps on me about how I'm going to kill myself and blow up stuff, I want to say that I am a grizzled electrical engineer and I'm doing this for the fun of it.... If I blow stuff up - it's okay.

So, I was working at a facility a few weeks ago that had a very old power plant next door.  Clearly I couldn't stay away and had to go drool over the 1930's vintage Fairbanks and Nordburg 1200-1400 kw generators and the beautiful antique switchgear.  It has given me the bug to want to sync two listeroid generators together (for no particular reason other than to do it).  I have a 20/2 with a 15k ST head and a 24/2 with a 30k ST head already.  Have a good supply of NEMA 3/4/5 contactors that I can use to tie as well as probably everything else I'd need.
Has anyone ever tied multiple ST heads in sync?  Just wondering what issues have been run into by others.  Sounds like a really fun science experiment to me!   Wouldn't it be cool to have two (or more) generators in my "power house" that could be run independently or in parallel depending on load needs?
:-)
Chris

trigzy

• View Profile
    • High Tech Hicks
Re: Syncing multiple generators
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2009, 03:26:05 PM »
Hi,
   You're going to kill yourself and blow stuff up!  Make sure someone posts the video on You Tube please.  HAHAHA  Now all joking aside.  Did you take pictures of this old plant, if so, please post a link so we can all see!

Having a syncroscope would be nice.... but you can rig up lamps, voltmeters etc. to measure the in/out of sync condition before closing.  I dont know of any documented cases of people running ST's in sync.  I think this could be quite inefficent, as you dont have any droop control to balance the KVAs.  Maybe if you tied the field windings together you could get a little bit better system balance.