Puppeteer

Author Topic: Kerosene additives for diesel eggines?  (Read 16501 times)

RJ

• View Profile
Kerosene additives for diesel eggines?
« on: December 15, 2008, 05:01:13 PM »
Just had 207 gal of home heating oil delivered today at 2.04/gal  :o . While I was talking with the guy I asked when he could make a delivery of Kerosene. He mentioned that he carried both on his truck and can fill me right now. I had him put 40 gal of kero in my 55 gal drum. I would like to use this for my tractors and back up diesel generator in case of an emergency. The tractor is a small 3 cyl Yanmar diesel engine that I use for plowing the driveway in the winter.The Generator is a Small 3 cyl Kubota engine. What do most people use to help #1/Kero lubricate the injection pumps? Should I mix a couple quarts of 20w engine oil to help the pumps lubricate?

xyzer

• View Profile
Re: Kerosene additives for diesel eggines?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2008, 07:57:12 PM »
RJ
First I am not an expert in this area! But why did you get the kerosene? Cost or winter use? I would tend to run offroad red dye diesel in my tractor and generator and if cold weather use and gelling was a problem then  maybe add kerosene to the diesel. http://www.ezoil.com/Resources/Kerosene_Blended_Diesel_Fuel.html
Like I say I am no expert other than I also heat with oil and figured if I needed a fuel supply I would use that. I might learn somthing here!
Dave
Vidhata 6/1 portable
Power Solutions portable 6/1
Z482 KUBOTA

rcavictim

• Certified Generator Head and Grand Master Sparky
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 08:09:52 PM »
If you think home heating oil is too thick to use as a diesel engine fuel in the winter you could add maybe 30% kerosene to cut it.  The lubricity of the heating oil would likely still be sufficient for your pumps and injectors.

You sure got a good deal on your heating oil.  What does kerosene cost you?  It was about $1.50 a liter ($5.70 US gal) here last winter.