Puppeteer

Author Topic: Alternative to those Chinese generators.  (Read 4256 times)

Ratman

• View Profile
Alternative to those Chinese generators.
« on: July 07, 2008, 08:51:30 PM »
I'm just wondering if there's a readily available alternative to those cheap Chinese generators (other than the ‘made in India’ versions).
I’m new to the CHP idea and I’m gathering as much information as possible, most of it has come from this forum, so I asking you all if you use any other make of generator here in the UK.
Thanks.
Rob
I like to think the older I get the wiser I become, but I'm not so sure.

Ian

• View Profile
Re: Alternative to those Chinese generators.
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 09:59:33 PM »
Rob - I am sure there are alternatives but you will have to look very hard to find a generator that is as low cost, simple, and robust as the Chinese STs.

Whilst it may appear that people here are not particularly complimentary towards the Chinese STs, they are by far the most popular generator to couple with a slow mover for the DIY types generally posting. They do not really go wrong. You may have to fix a few things on delivery (like bearings, brush alignment) but they are built like a tank and take a lot of abuse. Very few actually fail in service; some seem to fail whilst being tinkered with.....

For the money they are very hard to beat. if they go wrong you can fix most things (or buy a new one). Why would you want anything else ?

There are a number of vendors here in UK and they tend to keep reasonable stocks.

I hope this helps.

Regards,
Ian

cujet

• Lister power rules!
    • View Profile
    • www.cujet.com
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 02:24:04 AM »
Mecc Alte is a major brand that builds world class generator heads. I believe they are #1.   

http://www.powertechengines.com/Gens.html

GeTec also sells some. I am not sure of the brand, but the specs are quite good. They may in fact be Mecc Alte gen heads (just a guess). Or, maybe they make them "in house".