Author Topic: NEWBIE INTRODUCTION  (Read 5527 times)

BACKROAD

• BAGDAD.......AZ
    • View Profile
NEWBIE INTRODUCTION
« on: February 17, 2008, 11:02:49 PM »
Howdy ya'all from sunny Bagdad....................................................................Az............

I just figured that I'd jump in here and introduce myself.  I'm an equiptment operator for Phelps/Dodge (now it's really Freeport McMoran)......   I live out in the middle of nowhere and totally off the GRID.  I bought my 5 acre parcel and a 1940 Mine house about a year ago.  I did inherit a small solar setup and a Chinese Diesel and a Winco 8kw generator.  The Diesel was produce in 1980 and carries the brand name of Dungfong, but like everything else it's an identical clone to the Changfa.  Shortly after moving in the new place the Diesel progressively (as in quick) lost it's compression to the point that for a while it only fired up on starting fluid.  Currently it's scattered in pieces getting ready for me to order parts this comming week. 

Now, in the middle of all this, I picked up another absolutely identical set up for the price of FREE, just get it out of here.  COOL, I figured I'd have a good parts machine that hasn't been run in at least ten years.  I couldn't resist the temptation to try and start it, just for the fun of it.  I swapped over my exhaust system, bought in a couple of batteries and my 55 gallon barrel that I have been using for a fuel tank.  I bled the fuel lines and went to turning it over with the starter, It managed to crank about a half dozen revolution's and actually FIRED and RAN.  Good compression, very smooth, makes a lot of noise and charges as it should.  What a deal huh?

Just ordered the parts from George Breckinridge to add the radiator and oil pressure stuff.
I'm expecting to learn a lot more from all of you, especially in the types of fuels to use.  You are all just stuck with me for the duration.....:):):) ::)