Puppeteer

Author Topic: Using Listeroid/alternator combo as a battery charger  (Read 16030 times)

matteas

• View Profile
Using Listeroid/alternator combo as a battery charger
« on: August 14, 2007, 12:05:26 AM »
Newbie here trying to figure out the most cost efficient way to charge batteries for an off-grid home. Electric usage will be around 200-300 amp/hr day maybe less. I'm leaning toward a battery bank of around 1000amp/hr.
I have read with allot of interest in the leece neville/balmar combination of charging batteries. Seems like bang for the buck might be the most efficient use of the listeroid as a battery charger.  I'm looking for more info on who has this setup (or something similar) and what you like/dislike about it. I'm mechanically inclined (or would like to think so, used to be a mechanic) not as proficient in electronics. All info is appreciated.

mike90045

• Mendocino Metro
  • Mmmm BBQ
    • View Profile
    • Mikes Solar PV page
Re: Using Listeroid/alternator combo as a battery charger
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2007, 02:11:13 AM »
If you have a great beefy charger, fine. 
Just 2 problems,

1) the batteries will take a good stiff charge till they are about 75% capacity, then charge tapers off, then it's time to get the washer machine going, etc.....

2) losses in the battery charging sequence, you loose about 20% recharging a flooded cell battery, AGM is less loss.

Go for a 48V system, less copper loss in the wires, because you aren't pulling as many amps, for the same wattage.

Tom

• Green power is good.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2007, 02:12:36 AM »
Do you have inverters? If so use the charger in them with the 240VAC output of an ST type generator. That way if the inverters fry you can still power your home. That is the way I'm planning my system.
Tom
2004 Ashwamegh 6/1 #217 - ST5 just over 3k hours.

matteas

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2007, 02:57:47 AM »