Puppeteer

Author Topic: Just joined the club  (Read 5930 times)

carlb23

• View Profile
Just joined the club
« on: March 01, 2007, 02:29:55 PM »
Please excuse me if these questions seem stupid but I am new to this and I want to do it the right way the first time.  This gen set will be used for backup only since I am grid tied.
While I have never worked on diesels before I have over 20 years working on high performance V8 gas engines.

I ordered a 6/1 Metro with a 4kWh head and readout from Sam Crosby (seems like a very nice and helpful guy) up in Maine on Tuesday and it is scheduled for delivery tomorrow.  I have been reading posts here for some time now and I was looking for opinions as to weather I should take it apart before even starting it or should I start it to see how well balanced it is first. 

If I take it apart should I completely strip it down and remove the crank and flywheels (this seems to be a real pain) or just pull the head, piston, rod, gears and IP and clean an paint the internals with Glyptal ?

Is there any way to check the balance of the Crank/Flywheel assembly without removing them from the engine?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Carl

peterako

• grazy dutch in Greece
    • View Profile
Re: Just joined the club
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 04:42:17 PM »
Welkom  :D

oke lets start if you have space and time. strip down total make photos all the way and record the timing position for injection , this to make the ass. easy and avoid problems.
Removing is in most of the cases easy but heavy a strong lifting device for lifting engiens etc will help.
You dont have to do this but if there is casting sand it will destroy slow or fast bearings or sealings.

Also this nice job wil help to picture the simple workings from the engine.

Welkom again and there are no stupid questions, but stupids not asking and hitting the head against the wall after finding a problem. ;D

ASK to learn it is for free and helpfull.