Author Topic: 14/1 New Setup Recommendations  (Read 3530 times)

ColoSolarSupply

• View Profile
14/1 New Setup Recommendations
« on: October 18, 2006, 09:58:24 AM »
I just purchased a 14/1 Ashwamegh from Rocky Mountain Power Supply and I'm outfitting it and "hopefully" installing it within the next week.  I'm pretty new to this type of engine/setup, but not to generator maintnance, rebuild, troubleshooting, rigging... you get the point.  I'm trying to do this as right as possible the first time.  Maybe for the last time?????

We live off-grid in Idaho Springs, CO.  We have an Outback inverter system 2(3648 inverters 7.2kw) and apprx 4200 watts of solar capacity on zomeworks trackers.  We also have an outdoor concrete spa and a wood boiler that we use to heat it and the house.  Our house is heated via radiant floors with Tekmar controllers and a Buderus wall-hung boiler for back-up.  We dont live nearly as energy efficent as an off-grid home should...  but hey you got to keep the spa pump going as much as possible.  Priorities, priorities.

Here is where I'm at:

1) Purchased a 14/1, 23" flywheel, Ashwamegh from RMPS  (very helpful...  even with my lack of knowledge)
2) Purchased an 8 groove 11.25 inch pulley from RMPS
3) Purchased an ST12kw head from Joel   
  I know the 14/1 will only put out about 7-8kw at our elevation 8,600' but I wanted to get an upsize for surge, life, and /or future engine increase.  I'll be running this unit apprx 8-10hrs a day in the winter and when needed in the summer.