Lister Engines > Lister Based Generators

Startomatic wiring advice

(1/6) > >>

apbedford:
I am a newbie to the Forum, seeking advice on SOM controls.

I have an SR2 with Brush generator, 4.5Kw, which is in very good working order. It was used as a backup generator, and came with the house when we bought it 25 years ago. It was well cared for, and must have been used very infrequently. It seems a good example of the type. It has always worked perfectly reliably when I have had call to use it. However, it is button/remote start, and has no separate control panel other than the alternator cubicle. I will be moving house soon (certainly not going to leave it behind!), and would like to be able to use it as SOM rather than push start.

I have recently acquired an SOM control panel, which was for a 12V, 1.75Kw model, schematic ED6443. This isn't in particularly good condition, but appears to have most of the principal SOM components. I have several schematics from this Forum, including the SOM "generic" schematic, and have spent some time reading the excellent posts. However, I really need some help and advice.

I would like to see if it would be possible to make the necessary tests, modifications and wiring alterations to convert the set-up to SOM, really as a project, somewhat inspired by Forum members who have completely renovated control panels, but have retained the original Lister equipment - or most of it, anyway, even if not the old selenium rectifiers. Btw, these have already been removed and replaced with modern diodes on my control panel.