Author Topic: Theory/Principles?  (Read 4838 times)

deepstate

• View Profile
Theory/Principles?
« on: June 26, 2018, 04:50:40 AM »
Hi,

What kind of diesel engine is the Lister? Is it like a 2 cycle Detroit Diesel without an injection pump? Why are people talking about spark plugs? Is there an introduction to the theory behind these machines? What  makes them run for so long and why are they special?

Also, is it confirmed there are no drawings online? I am unable to find any technical drawings or diagrams.  I can pause youtube videos and make out some of the parts, but I don't know what they do.  Maybe drawings and diagrams were online at one point, but no longer available? I've tried several hours on google.  If you have a link, I am interested.

Thanks

deepstate

• View Profile
Re: Theory/Principles?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2018, 06:11:01 AM »
no, I am a small farmer and I just started growing hemp. I would like to run a generator on hemp oil for 4-8 hours a day to run electric pumps from a pond and irrigation system.  But I want to be able to see how difficult it would be to rebuilt it.  I found a rusted core, but the guy who has it probably won't part with it.  He might let me borrow it, if I am unable to find drawings, I will do that and see if I can trace it into FreeCAD. 

mike90045

• Mendocino Metro
  • Mmmm BBQ
    • View Profile
    • Mikes Solar PV page
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2018, 08:01:32 AM »
The 6hp, 1 cyl  (6/1) is a 4 stroke, with mechanical injection.  Most heads inject into a pre-combust chamber, most have a option of a slug that can screw into the chamber to increase the compression ratio for easier cold starting.

Restoring, it's mostly parts - where are you and what can you get ?

mikenash

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2018, 08:35:25 AM »

deepstate

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2018, 08:45:07 AM »