Author Topic: Newbie in search of first engine  (Read 5132 times)

Boxelder

• View Profile
Newbie in search of first engine
« on: June 02, 2018, 09:10:00 PM »
Greetings, all!

I'm a recently infected Lister newb wanting to find my first engine.  I was in contact with Sid here in Atlanta regarding his posts that he was ready to sell his Listeroid and Petteroid.  As it turns out, after meeting the man I understand that he has recently obtained a fresh lease on life, and only a monster would ask him to give up his man toys when he clearly doesn't want to or need to at this particular moment in his life.

I should add that I'm in contact with 38ac, and if no engines are available I'll be buying one from him and having him work his magic on it.  Not afraid to pay a man with his skill set demonstrated so aptly on this forum.  But naturally, being a gearhead myself I would love to take a swing at fixing one up myself and so I'm also at odds with myself on this conflict of interest.

So, I'm looking for either a running engine or a non-running collection of parts.  I'm perhaps more mechanically skilled than our national average, but by no means am I a rocket scientist.  Avid home gamer with a nice collection of machine shop toys including lathes and mills, and even an old Steptoe-Western 24" shaper.  An engine I could get back into shape using those tools would be right up my alley.

Proximity to Atlanta, GA has to be considered, although for a true original Lister (or even one Butch has worked his magic on) my range for a road trip pretty much includes all of North America.  Yeah, the bug bit me pretty hard all right.

Also, I have sold this idea of an indestructible engine with excellent fuel economy on the basis of promising an emergency backup generator for the house, so if it would have a generator head setup included well hey, that'd be awesome.