Author Topic: Further evidence of the stupidity of those in charge  (Read 3502 times)

ajaffa1

• View Profile
Further evidence of the stupidity of those in charge
« on: March 06, 2018, 11:05:39 AM »
At first I thought this was funny, then I realised that as a tax payer in NSW the joke is on me https://au.finance.yahoo.com/news/nsw-government-ordered-trains-worth-202120497.html

glort

• View Profile
Re: Further evidence of the stupidity of those in charge
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2018, 12:31:43 PM »

Why am i not surprised???
Probably too much attention paid to phone charging ports than for someone to take the time to look at the size of the things.

Every ( infrequent) time I go on the eastern suburbs railway that took over 100 years to finish that goes from the City to Bondi, I shit myself. The carriages already run so close to the walls in that long tunnel, its terrifying.

I'm no engineer but most of the tunnels in the city network are 100+ years old. They are brick lined. I can't even begin to imagine the cost of widening them  even 200MM. Most of them have pipes either on the surface or under the face and who knows what else they used to stabilise and support them.

The safety standard thing seems to be the new solution to every inconvenient problem.
Too much radiation from Fukishima in fish, just re do the standard so once what was unthinkable is fine. Too much fecal matter in imported vegetables,  just change or eliminate the standard. Anything gets too bad, don't test for it at all and then you can say you never found anything wrong... hard to find something you were paying no attention to!
Trains don't have enough clearance, just reduce the required margin so they " Shouldn't touch" when they pass. God help the day they go a bit quicker than usual or are more loaded and sway a bit further when they meet at the apex of a bend.