Author Topic: What have I got?  (Read 3674 times)

Redvanman

• View Profile
What have I got?
« on: December 29, 2017, 12:32:59 PM »
Hi all,
Newbie here so please be patient.
I have recently acquired a lister generator startomatic which was a non runner. The I.d. Plate on the bottom bracket identifys it as an SR2with a 3kv genny.
As it only has one cylinder that cannot be right.
The only other Id I can find is 201-5001-T1 on the block and 338 cast on the genny with a plate that reads shunt Reg 10amps 2 ohms.
After repairing a pair of broken wires and bleeding the derv I can now start it by putting the switch into auto and pressing reset but it only runs for about 10 secs. I should have said I have to manually drop the valve lifter as there does not appear to be any power to the solenoid and the 300w lamp does not come on.
What have I got and what is my next move ?

dieselgman

• View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: What have I got?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2017, 02:19:03 PM »
Post up some pictures please.

dieselgman
ALL Things Lister/Petter - Americas
Lyons Kansas warehousing and rebuild operations

ajaffa1

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2018, 11:35:33 AM »
Hi Redvanman, This setup sounds very much like the unit I saw for sale in northern NSW Australia. If it is a true startomatic it should have a box, on top of the generator head, containing the starter relay, battery charging resistors and the wiring from the generator. It should also have a, second, control box containing relays. diodes and etc. It should look something like the photo attached and have a wiring diagram pasted in the back of the box.
What to do next depends on what you intend to do with it. If you wish to use it for primary power supply: strip it, rebuild it and it should last you for ten plus years. If you intend to use it as only a back up: get a service manual, change the oil and oil filter,