Puppeteer

Author Topic: lpws2 intermittent power loss  (Read 3752 times)

grebma

• View Profile
lpws2 intermittent power loss
« on: July 24, 2017, 02:43:48 AM »
hey all.  Great forum and I appreciate the info on this site.  Newbie here.  I purchased a Schweiss zero turn lawnmower last year with a LPWS2 engine.  Animal of a machine as it tackles grass well.  over 800 hours and hour meter not working when
I got it so who knows.  The problem I'm having is it's running hot after about 45 minutes with some black smoke at that point and some serious loss of power to the point where it quits running.  This started end of last summer after I had lots of water in the fuel (diesel bulk tank had water in it).  It quit on me and I drained the tank, lines, and replaced fuel filter.   This spring it would run 210-225 degrees and I would shut it down at that point.  Pressure washed the block and found rust running below the line where head meets block.  Looks like the head gasket is bad/leaking and may be the cause of the overheating. 

Some new parts recently:
alternator
starter
fuel filter
oil change with new filter - 10w30 Shell Rotella diesel oil (this was what previous owner ran- i just learned it should be 15w40 right?)
belts
thermostat

This weekend I used some head gasket repair (followed the directions exactly)  and ran it today.  Temp stayed below 190 degrees which was great.  Head gasket fixed (I know - for now right- short term fix).   But I could run it now for about 90 minutes  before it started blowing smoke and a bit of power loss.

When this happened I deactivated the mower deck, throttled it back to about 1500 rpm and left it run so I could take some temperature readings on it.  All readings between the 2 cylinders were even- on glow plugs, block, intake, injectors, etc.  Except on the exhaust manifold:  530 degrees on the rear cylinder (closest to flywheel) and 330 degrees on the front cylinder.  So obviously one cylinder is not playing nice with the other.