Author Topic: new member  (Read 2886 times)

flying kiwi

• View Profile
« on: March 01, 2017, 10:10:19 AM »
Gidday all.
Ive been browsing this forum for a few months, and im impressed with the knolwdege and hepfullness of the community. Ive worked several decades as a maintenence engineer and have a broad knowldege of things mechanical, machining and welding and repairing and reconditionong allsorts of machinery but im a total noob to the whole lister world.

Ive recently gone off grid and built up a reasonable sloar panel array, with a large bank of batteries feeding an inverter to my house, as backup and for larger loads , like running a welder, i bought an electric start chinese diesel. it does the job, but i was looking for something a bit less furious than a 3400rpm direct injection screamer.

I discovered listers and their hypnotic, rythmic, unhurried way of running and after reading a bit about their logevity, and decided to take the plunge. I bought a very nice looking cs6/1 a cuople of months ago. The head had been  off recently for a decoke and water galleries cleaned and also a valve reseating job. It was built in 1953 and had spent its life driving a vacum pump in a cowshed here in new zealand.

The guy had done a great paint job on it, polished the brass and mounted it to a nice looking sturdy wooden skid type base.  I got it running on the first day and had it quietly ticking away on the lawn. I have suspicions that its in need of a bit of fine tuning (continuous smoke out the exhaust) and i had issues with the govenor not holding constant speed. It would either go up to an excessive speed, or slowly fade and stop.

I read up on tricks and tips to improve stability of revs on this forum, and ive made some changes to try in the future. It will be a slow project as poor health limits the time i can work on it, but its going to happen.
d