Puppeteer

Author Topic: Ha 4 lost oil pressure after oil service  (Read 9290 times)

Gensetsteve

• View Profile
Ha 4 lost oil pressure after oil service
« on: June 01, 2015, 08:07:55 PM »
Newbie here saying hi. Apologies for joining with a problem but my problem led me to find and join your site so hopefully I can help in future.

Bit of a strange one this for me after nearly 30 years of servicing generators this has me stumped. Run the generator on arrival to site with no apparent problems dropped the lube and refilled with a semi syn 15/40.  On restarting the engine it shut down on low oil pressure. I traced the oil line back to a tee piece. I can remove the tee piece and run the engine with no oil loss or pressure. The oil supply pipe to the governor if removed sprays oil out. So I seem to have oil pressure around the engine.  I then changed the oil filter in case this was blocked although we felt unlikely as the engine is standby and rarely runs more than 5 hours a year.

The generator is 50 miles from our base so I thought I would ask you guys for advice in case I have over looked something obvious. I am thinking the oil way is blocked and intend to return with a compressor to try and blow the muck out through the other gallery. The only other thing I can think of is some kind of air lock.  
Thanks in advance if any one has idea would be grateful to hear it

« Last Edit: June 10, 2015, 05:27:19 PM by Gensetsteve »

dieselgman

• View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: Ha 3 lost oil pressure after oil service
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 08:15:24 PM »