Author Topic: Identify the Engine and Build.  (Read 8704 times)

abdulr76

• View Profile
Identify the Engine and Build.
« on: May 11, 2015, 06:52:08 AM »
Dear Lister Lovers,

I am a newbie to your domain and started to love these engines, I have finalized to purchase an engine which seems to TR2 in my little knowledge (no engine details stamped), I have check the workshop manual but unable to find it build as mentioned on the engine. Please take a look at advice the engine model and build for possible repairs in right direction.

Thanking in advance.
Pics are available on mentioned below link.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8s6h47kahmof0vh/AABoRCx8Ox0af4LSHDCyCT94a?dl=0

dieselgman

• View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: Identify the Engine and Build.
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2015, 08:36:46 AM »
That could be either a TS2a or TR2a. Obviously from a light plant. Someone has had that generator head removed and left many loose fasteners so be cautious about whether or not that is a functional unit. That particular Leeroy Somer head may not be the best choice for general household power because they were cheaply made specifically for light plants with pretty loose power requirements.

Take a look at your engine cowling - opposite side of engine. There would have been a small data plate either on top or the side of the cowling with engine serial number. What size is the generator head? Failing that, get a casting number from one of the cylinder heads... or a pump number from one of the injection pump data plates.

dieselgman
ALL Things Lister/Petter - Americas
Lyons Kansas warehousing and rebuild operations

abdulr76

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2015, 01:49:16 PM »
Dieselgman,

Bundle of thanks for prompt reply.
The Owner told me that it has a 10 KVA/7KW Generator head (Capacitor Compensated). I will look for the cylinder head and pump plate for details.
However, I request you comment on diesel fuel consumption and reliability.