Puppeteer

Author Topic: 1115 and 15KW ST installation  (Read 4128 times)

38ac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
    • View Profile
1115 and 15KW ST installation
« on: August 15, 2012, 02:17:24 AM »
Those who follow my ramblings here know I had this mounted on a trailer for portability but during the recent 60 hours outage I found what everyone who runs one knew already, the Chinese singles real mission in life is to destroy anything attached to them. This one isn't the best behaved balance wise and in 60 hours it manged to just about destroy all the mounts and was working on the electrical panels too. So I trashed the portable idea and have spent my spare time since the storm making it permanent.  Couple pictures show the story for the most part. Frame is made from 4" channel. Radiator, fan and temp switch are all Geo Metro items. overflow tank is a Honda fuel tank. 15 gallon fuel tank is a farm tractor unit and I added a pre-filter since the Chinese item is hard to source.   Still need to vent the exhaust outside and finish the battery box mounting.

Collector and horder of about anything diesel

dieselgman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3141
    • View Profile
    • Lister Parts
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2012, 02:22:30 AM »
Yep!, bolted to the concrete I would bet it will settle down a bit.

Looks like a fairly clean setup Butch! Good work!

dieselgman
Ford Powerstroke, Caterpillar 3304, Cummins M11, Too many Listers to count...

38ac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 12:37:14 PM »
Yep!, bolted to the concrete I would bet it will settle down a bit.


dieselgman
When the dog doesn't want to stay in the yard you have two choices chain him up,,,, or shoot him. We chose lock down  ;D
Collector and horder of about anything diesel

OKFarmer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2012, 03:14:13 PM »
Where did you source the Changfa?

ronmar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1227
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 12:20:40 AM »
Setting on the concrete, mine shakes and tries to walk across the floor.  Set up on some ethafoam blocks, it sets and runs rock steady...
PS 6/1 - ST-5.

38ac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 02:44:36 AM »
Where did you source the Changfa?

I have owned the 1115 for 3-4 years. Was the last one sold by Carroll Stream Motors in Michigan.  There are a few around for sale. used and N.O.S.
Collector and horder of about anything diesel

mobile_bob

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2787
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2012, 05:09:32 AM »
my 195 is set up on a 3 point cradle mount, resilient of course
i think i could set it on 3 coke bottles and it would happily just sit
there and pump out max power all day long. 

as it is the last time it ran, it did so sitting on 3 jack stands and you couldn't feel any vibration in the floor or anywhere else in the house or attached garage. 

maybe yours has a balance issue? 

maybe all 1115's are this way?

bob g
otherpower.com, microcogen.info, practicalmachinist.com
(useful forums), utterpower.com for all sorts of diy info

38ac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2012, 12:22:11 PM »
Bob, not all of the 1115s  vibrate,  my Laidong 1115 is VERY well behaved.  This particular engine has been a problem child of sort, it is not of the highest quality if you know what I mean?
All is well ( I think) with it bolted to the slab with 8 anchors and the assesories not mounted to it. 
Collector and horder of about anything diesel

mobile_bob

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2787
    • View Profile
Re: 1115 and 15KW ST installation
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2012, 02:47:30 PM »
is it possible one or both of the balance shafts are out of time?

just wondering

bob g
otherpower.com, microcogen.info, practicalmachinist.com
(useful forums), utterpower.com for all sorts of diy info