Author Topic: Is anyone still importing Changfa engines?  (Read 7143 times)

rbk

• View Profile
Is anyone still importing Changfa engines?
« on: May 04, 2006, 02:09:47 AM »
I'm fairly new to slow speed diesels, and it looks like I may be about 6 months too late to get a Changfa.  Considering the EPA exemption for stationary applications, there doesn't seem to be any "real" (as opposed to imagined) reason to not import them.  Doesn't anyone have the gumption to import these?

If further importation is just not going to happen, what are the alternatives for reliable (read simple and no electronic controls) and inexpensive (if not cheap) slow speed diesels?

Rob

sawmiller

Re: Is anyone still importing Changfa engines?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 02:49:01 AM »
Hi Rob

I think  power-co.net has a few left i'm not shur what size he has .

Regards

Tim

trigzy

• View Profile
    • High Tech Hicks
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2006, 04:11:44 AM »
From my understanding the stationary exemption has "expired" and even stationary engines need to be compliant.

Although easy to import for personal use, it would be just about impossible to bring these in to the US for resale.

Steve
Power Anand 24/2, Brushless 20kW, some other antique iron.
Vendor of AVR's, Small Clones of Yanmar Diesel and Honda Gasoline Engines

rbk

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2006, 02:23:24 AM »
Tim, thanks. I gave them a call and ordered a 195 (they are out of the 1115, which is what I really wanted).

Steve, I'm clueless about how to import one of these.  Any tips on how to get started?

Rob

trigzy

• View Profile
    • High Tech Hicks
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2006, 01:24:05 AM »
Well,