Puppeteer

Author Topic: Camshaft gear  (Read 5500 times)

Montana

• View Profile
Camshaft gear
« on: March 29, 2009, 06:33:53 AM »
Well I have started to put my 12/1 powerline back together.  While I was cleaning the sharp edges an left ovet metal of the cam gear I found one tooth that must have had some bad casting.  About 1/4 to 1/3 of the tooth is gone from one end of the gear.  I cleaned it up with a dremel tool in hopes that I could get it ti work.  Now Im wandering if that is a good idea to try and save the gear.  I dont know how much of a strain that would put on that tooth.
There is a lot of crap in  this engine that could have been caught if only a little time was spent inspecting the quality.  Im no expert just visual looking could have gone a long way.
Totally off Grid and Loving It :)
Omega 6/1
Powerline 12/1 7.5kw ST Generator

ronmar

• View Profile
Re: Camshaft gear
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 07:01:58 AM »
And that is the biggest issue with the Roids.  Just a little cleanliness and attention to detail during assembly could result in a vastly improved final product. 

As for your cam gear, what kind of idler gear are your running, Bronze or iron?  What is your backlash between crank and idler and between idler and cam?  I measure the idler gear backlash by wedging the flywheel in place and use a rod to a dial indicator and wiggle the idler gear.  To measure cam gear backlash, I roll the engine to a point where the cams are not loaded and jam the crank-idler gear by rolling a rag into the gear mesh.  Then I use a longer rod to reach into the cam gear teeth and press against the dial indicator while i rock the cam gear.