Author Topic: NEWBE WVO/ATF/ PROCESSING AND FILTERING  (Read 13452 times)

BACKROAD

• BAGDAD.......AZ
    • View Profile
NEWBE WVO/ATF/ PROCESSING AND FILTERING
« on: March 06, 2008, 09:33:22 PM »
I could use a little bit of help here.  I've been wandering through a bunch of this site trying to find some kind of basic instructions for setting up a processing system for something like ATF or WVO to use with my 195 Chinese Diesel.  Can someone PLEASE send me in a direction that might help.  Please take note, that I'm an old truck driver, and not a rocket scientist or even a borderline genius.
Dung-fong #1 - Mfg. Date 1980/8kw Winco gen...In pieces
Dung-fong #2 - Mfg. Date also 1980/8kw Winco gen...runs
      totally awesome after 10+ years of sitting.
1987 Ford F350, crewcab, dually 4X4.....Cummins Powered...
1956 Willy's all-a-round great four wheeler, VERY CUSTOM....

BACKROAD

• BAGDAD.......AZ
    • View Profile
Re: NEWBE WVO/ATF/ PROCESSING AND FILTERING
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2008, 12:52:50 AM »
Yes, it does help.  Do you buy the filters/assy at the larger parts stores or do you have to go to something like a fleet supply?  I'm assuming that the stuff has to be pushed through the filters with some kind of pump. 

I do have a start, with a half dozen very nice and clean, 55 gal oil barrels.  Now I just have to figure out the rest.  I've also got a supply of 15-20 gallons a week of WVO from a couple of restaurants here in Bagdad...........AZ.....

Someone told me the other day that a decent centrifuge could be bought for about $300. 

VeggieDiesel

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2008, 02:56:53 AM »
Backroad,

Im just finishing my WVO proccesor so I will try to get some pictures up on the forum real soon.
Essentially, here's how it works.

I Pour WVO into a 45 gal drum processor through a medium mesh paint strainer bag.
A drum band heater warms the oil to 180 deg.f
I have incorporated a centrifuge/pump system to remove particulates and heavy sludge.