Puppeteer

Author Topic: Amazing Find - Original Lister, identification required  (Read 8599 times)

tomgilbert

• View Profile
Amazing Find - Original Lister, identification required
« on: May 20, 2007, 05:32:46 AM »
Folks

A friend asked us up to his farm for a couple of nights. I was excited because I knew he had an oldish petrol Gainsborough that had not run for years and he was happy for me to have a crack at it. Turns out he had an old pump shed with another stationary engine in it and he thought I should take a look at that one instead. Could not believ my eyes when I opened the door and there is an early model diesel Lister that had not been started for about 30 years, maybe more.  :o
As a novice I could not identify it but this is what I can tell you. It has two large fly wheels and the pushrods run on the outside. The plate states 3.5 hp and 650 rpm. The serial number is 462315. I am unsre of the vintage but to me it could be 1930's??
I had never seen or started one of these but could tell it was complete. After a good check over I gave it a crank but there was no compression at all. I identified the compression lever at the base of the exhaust pushrod but it has seized in compression mode and made no difference once it had been rectified.
We cracked open all the fuel lines one by one to ensure the motor was getting fuel and when we cranked there was good pressure where the fuel line eneter the top of the motor.