Author Topic: WVO VS Biodisel  (Read 8891 times)

carlb23

• View Profile
WVO VS Biodisel
« on: April 23, 2007, 02:33:50 PM »
Hi,

I am just getting my Metro Listeroid genset straightened out and all is going fine.  I am now starting to investigate running it on alternative fuels.  I am looking for opinions on which fuel is better from a manufacturing standpoint and a running standpoint. I have access to WVO and I understand that even if i want to make bio-diesel I must first clean the WVO to a point that I could run it in my listeroid anyway. I understand that using WVO that i must start on Diesel or Biodiesel before switching over to heated WVO. Building a heat exchanger for the WVO is no big deal and I think this is my best bet but, being a newbie i would appreciate input from some seasoned veterans.

Thanks

Carl

lobosolo

• View Profile
Re: WVO VS Biodiesel
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2007, 03:37:26 PM »
to make biodiesel out of WVO it is only necessary to filter it through a window screen ( about 100-200 microns), all other the crud will drop out when converted to bio.  It is better to dewater the oil to prevent making large amounts of soap.  Go to biodiesel infopop forum for more in depth info.  My personal opinion ( and I have an asshole also) is to convert the oil and avoid the hassle of switching from one to the other and heat exchangers, but then I plan on running my genset and truck on bio.  Good Luck.  Dan

SCOTT

• View Profile
Re: WVO VS Biodisel
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2007, 03:40:04 PM »
carlb23

I run mine on filtered and heated WVO.  If you decide to run biodiesel it will cost alot more to run, because of the cost of processing the wvo into biodiesel.  WVO works well in these engines, as long as it is filtered and hot, shoot for 180f+.  I suggest using a high temp heat rope on the injector line close to the head, these are avaliable at Mcmaster carr.  I and others have had luck with these heaters.
Good luck

Scott