Puppeteer

Author Topic: Hydronic (underfloor hot water) Heating  (Read 9218 times)

Stan

Hydronic (underfloor hot water) Heating
« on: February 08, 2007, 11:39:28 PM »
I'm considering putting in hydronic heating in my house.  My boiler will be gas powered but there still has to be at least a couple of water pumps to pump the hot water around though the house and the heater.  Does anyone have such a system now?  Is it compatible with 12 volt operation or are the pumps only available in 120V versions?  If they are 120v, how many amps do they draw, both on start up and normal running.

This information would be good to know if I wanted to be able to power my home's  heating source from Penelope or battery in case of winter power outages.

Stan

dkwflight

• View Profile
Re: Hydronic (underfloor hot water) Heating
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 12:02:14 AM »
Hi
I have some experience with a couple of different systems, different houses.
My brothers house works well. The house is very comfortable and economical to heat.

To begin with make sure the house and windows are well insulated. If the house is not very well insulated the floor can be too warm.
The system includes a tempering devise to control the tempreture of the water circulating in the under floor circuit. you will have two pumps. one to bring hot water from the boiler to the tempering thermostat. Another pump to move water through the loops under the floor.

The advantage of this kind of heat is you are circulating a low temp water. and if your feet are warm then the rest of you is comfortable at a lower temp.

Good luck
Dennis
28/2 powersolutions JKSon -20k gen head
Still in devlopment for 24/7 operation, 77 hours running time

GIII

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 01:22:31 AM »
All the above!