Author Topic: fuel in exhaust?  (Read 4270 times)

MIspecial

• View Profile
fuel in exhaust?
« on: June 09, 2006, 03:29:55 AM »
I have just an hour on my 12/2 mostly with not load or low rpms.  I am getting very black fuel? coming out of the exhaust.  Is this because the engine is getting too much fuel or because the engine is not being run long enough to get hot and burn all the fuel?
I am still new to this and any help would be great.

sawmiller

Re: fuel in exhaust?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 04:15:01 AM »
Hi MIspecial

That what they call slobbering not enought load and not getting hot enough. It will  usualy go away with a good load and getting up to temp.

Regards
Tim

MIspecial

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2007, 10:47:05 PM »
Still getting quite a bit of black liquid leaking from the exhaust.  I now have my gen head working and I powered my garage most of the afternoon.  Now te engine is quite a mess.  There are puddles of this black stuff all over the lister, floor and gen head.  Any ideas?

JohnF13

• View Profile
    • woodnstuff
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2007, 10:59:11 PM »
On new engines it takes quite a while for the rings to "seat", especially if you have run it for a bit on little or no load.  Put a big load on it and let it run and get up to a good temperature (190F exhaust water), the rings will eventually seat themselves and everything will be fine.  It can take upwards of 100 hours (or never on lightly used engines) so have patience!
John F
2 x 6/1 JKSON.  1 x 10/1 JKSON, 1 x 27hp Changfa, 1 x 28hp AG295, 1 genuine 1939 SOM, a couple of others in test mode and a Hercules Multu-fuel still in the box.

JohnF13

• View Profile
    • woodnstuff
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2007, 12:21:58 AM »
Also, forgot to mention - have you balanced the cylinders - are both running at about  the same temperature? 
John F